5. Failure and Reassessment / Extenuating Circumstances

5.1 Failure and reassessment

5.1.1 A student who fails to be awarded credits for a module shall have the right to repeat the assessment in accordance with the provisions set down in the relevant programme regulations. Repeating an assessment will either be in the form of a resit or a resubmission, depending on the nature of the assessment.

5.1.2 The pass mark achieved in the repeated assessment for programmes awarded by ifs University College will be the mark used for classification and grading purposes. [Students should check the relevant programme regulations for awards validated by strategic partners as the policy concerning the mark used for classification purposes may differ.]

5.1.3 Where an assessment is repeated, it shall be incumbent upon the student to remain alert to any minor amendments and updates made to the syllabus  for the session in question. 

5.1.4 Except in the context of continuing professional development, a student may not repeat the assessment in a module for which credits have already been awarded or condoned, for example to improve the grade achieved (see Section 2.3.3).

5.2 Resits

5.2.1 A resit is a second or subsequent attempt at an assessment component that comprises specific assessment tasks/activities that have been externally set by ifs University College examiners and that will be common to a number of students. Typical assessment components that a student might resit would include objective tests, coursework assignments and written examinations.

5.2.2 Normally, 2 such resit opportunities will be permitted per module with careful attention to be paid to any consequences explained in the programme regulations. It should be noted, for example, that, at Level 6, 1 further attempt only is allowed if Honours status is to be retained.  A third and final attempt will be permitted, but with successful completion of the programme resulting in the award of an Ordinary degree. 

5.2.3   Students must pass any module they resit within a timescale of 3 assessment sessions from their initial failure. 

5.2.4 Subject to the requirements of the programme regulations, and any restriction on the number of attempts allowed, a student who has failed to be awarded credits for an option module at his/her first attempt may, exceptionally, request to switch to an alternative module in place of the failed module. If such a request is granted, the attempt at the original module will count towards the maximum number of attempts at the new module and thus may have a bearing on the type of award at Level 6 (whether Ordinary or Honours).

5.3 Resubmission

5.3.1  A resubmission is a second attempt at an assessment component that comprises specific assessment tasks/activities that have been chosen by the student and which will be unique to that student. Typical assessment components that might be eligible for resubmission would include project work, dissertations or work-based learning assessments (eg reflective journals).

5.3.2 A student may resubmit the assessment component on one subsequent occasion only, not later than 12 months after the decision to allow resubmission has been taken by the Board of Examiners (or Assessment Review Group for Level 4). 

5.3.3 Where minor corrections only are required, this will not be regarded as a resubmission and the original mark allocated will stand.

5.4 Extenuating circumstances

5.4.1 ifs University College is committed to the fair treatment of students and recognises the possibility that some may not be able to demonstrate their true levels of ability during assessment as a result of circumstances beyond their control ('extenuating circumstances').

5.4.2 Where such potential disadvantage can be identified prior to the assessment, ifs University College will put in place suitable and appropriate measures to compensate for the identified disadvantage under its 'reasonable adjustments' policy.

5.4.3 Cases of disadvantage that occur immediately before, or during, an assessment are covered by the provision of 'special consideration'. Thus, a student who is prevented from taking an assessment because of ill health or other circumstance, or whose performance in an assessment has been, or is likely to be, impaired because of such circumstances, must inform the Head of Operational Support, Awards and Curriculum so that the case may be dealt with under the special consideration policy.  Claims must normally be submitted within 7 days of the examination or coursework submission date and be supported by independent evidence (to be received within 28 days of the date of the assessment or its scheduled submission).  The Assessment Review Group will then consider the information provided by the student and reach a decision on the evidence presented as informed by precedent.

5.4.4 If satisfied that the basis of ill health or other circumstance represents appropriate grounds for mitigation, the Assessment Review Group may: approve additional attempts at the module and/or allow a time extension for the student; make a recommendation to the Board of Examiners to alter the marks of a student or to award a module pass and supporting credits; or agree to flag the case for further consideration at the Board of Examiners when the student's degree classification or progression is discussed.

5.4.5 The Board of Examiners may recommend the award of an aegrotat degree to any student who, because of illness or other extenuating circumstance, is unable to complete the assessment requirements of a programme.  Such aegrotat degrees will only be available in the case of awards at Levels 5, 6 and 7  (further particulars are given in Clauses 6.3.9 - 6.3.11). In similar circumstances, and by recommendation to the Academic Board, an award may be granted at Level 4.

5.4.6 The accompanying policies and procedures in relation to extenuating circumstances are set down in Chapter 10 of ifs University College Code of Practice for Quality Assurance.

5.4.7 The Board of Examiners (or Award Progression Board for Level 4) may recommend to the Academic Board that a posthumous degree be awarded where a student dies after completion of a programme (and before graduation) or, in exceptional circumstances, during study for a programme.